Verizon IndyCar Series - 2012 Schedule

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Previous Race Firestone 550
Next Race Iowa Corn Indy 250

Milwaukee IndyFest

West Allis, WI
16 Jun Race Complete
Milwaukee Mile
Milwaukee IndyFest Track
Race Review

"What a race. The script is perfect," said Hunter-Reay, who won at the Milwaukee Mile in 2004 in CART and recorded his sixth Indy car win. "Michael (Andretti) loves the sport and does a lot for it. Milwaukee and INDYCAR go hand-in-hand. This is the oldest racing facility in the country and we just won. It’s awesome."

Hunter-Reay, who started second, led Tony Kanaan across the start-finish line by 5.1029 seconds.

"It was one of the most physical races I've ever driven," added Hunter-Reay, who overtook Helio Castroneves for the lead (for good as it turned out) in Turn 3 on Lap 142. "You're always on edge, always busy in the car."

Kanaan moved up from the sixth starting position in the No. 11 GEICO/Mouser Elctronics/KV Racing Technology car, earned his second podium finish of the season. He has finished no worse than fourth in six of last eight starts at the Mile.

"I didn’t have anything at the end for Ryan, but great event," Kanaan said. "I love to see the stands as full as I’ve ever seen here. Thanks to Michael and his people who put this event back together. I love this place. It was a long day, but this is typical Milwaukee. That’s why I love this place. You’ve got to drive it. If you don’t drive it, you never get it, so I’m extremely happy."

James Hinchcliffe was third and Oriol Servia jumped from the 20th starting position to finish fourth. E.J. Viso, who led his first laps since June 2011 at Texas, finished fifth (his first top five since Iowa in 2010).

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the Milwaukee IndyFest

Milwaukee IndyFest
About the Track
Milwaukee IndyFest Track

Track Info

The one-mile oval drives more like a road course because of the 9-degree banking in the turns, which produces exciting racing. Drivers can't go flat out on the course, which creates overtaking opportunities in the turns as well as the straights. The Mile opened in 1903 and little has changed to the configuration.

Past Track Winners

2012 Ryan Hunter-Reay
2011 Dario Franchitti
2009 Scott Dixon
2008 Ryan Briscoe
2007 Tony Kanaan
2006 Tony Kanaan
2006 Sebastien Bourdais
2005 Sam Hornish, Jr.
2005 Paul Tracy
2004 Dario Franchitti
2004 Ryan Hunter Reay
2003 Michel Jourdain, Jr.
2002 Paul Tracy
2001 Kenny Brack
2000 Juan Pablo Montoya
1999 Paul Tracy
1998 Jimmy Vasser
1997 Greg Moore
1996 Michael Andretti
1995 Paul Tracy
1994 Al Unser, Jr.
1993 Nigel Mansell
1992 Michael Andretti
1991 Michael Andretti
1990 Al Unser, Jr.
1989 Rick Mears
1988 Rick Mears
1987 Michael Andretti
1986 Michael Andretti
1985 Mario Andretti
1984 Tom Sneva
1983 Tom Sneva
1982 Tom Sneva
1982 Gordon Johncock
1981 Tom Sneva
1981 Mike Mosley
1980 Johnny Rutherford
1980 Bobby Unser
1979 Roger McCluskey
1979 A.J. Foyt
1978 Danny Ongais
1978 Rick Mears
1977 Johnny Rutherford
1977 Johnny Rutherford
1976 Al Unser
1976 Mike Mosley
1975 Mike Mosley
1975 A.J. Foyt
1974 Gordon Johncock
1974 Johnny Rutherford
1973 Wally Dallenbach
1973 Bobby Unser
1972 Joe Leonard
1972 Bobby Unser
1971 Bobby Unser
1971 Al Unser
1970 Al Unser
1970 Joe Leonard
1969 Al Unser
1969 Gred Weld & Art Pollard
1968 Lloyd Ruby
1968 Lloyd Ruby
1967 Mario Andretti
1967 Gordon Johncock
1966 Mario Andretti
1966 Mario Andretti
1965 Gordon Johncock
1965 Joe Leonard
1965 Parnelli Jones
1964 Parnelli Jones
1964 A.J. Foyt
1963 Jim Clark
1963 Rodger Ward
1962 Rodger Ward
1962 A.J. Foyt
1961 Lloyd Ruby
1961 Rodger Ward
1960 Len Sutton
1960 Rodger Ward
1959 Rodger Ward
1959 Johnny Thomson
1958 Rodger Ward
1958 Art Bisch
1957 Jim Rathmann
1957 Rodger Ward
1956 Jimmy Bryan
1956 Pat Flaherty
1955 Pat Flaherty
1955 Johnny Thomson
1954 Manny Ayulo
1954 Chuck Stevenson
1953 Chuck Stevenson
1953 Jack McGrath
1952 Chuck Stevenson
1952 Mike Nazaruk
1951 Walt Faulkner
1951 Tony Bettenhausen
1950 Walt Faulkner
1950 Tony Bettenhausen
1949 Johnnie Parsons
1949 Myron Fohr
1948 Myron Fohr & Tony Bettenhausen
1948 Johnny Mantz
1948 Emil Andres
1947 Ted Horn
1947 Charles Van Acker
1947 Bill Holland
1946 Rex Mays
1941 Rex Mays
1939 Babe Stapp
1938 Chet Gardner
1937 Rex Mays
◄ Newer
Older ►