Rahal Awarded SCCA Hall Of Fame

IZOD IndyCar Series team co-owner and 1986 Indianapolis 500 champion Bobby Rahal is among five road racing principals who will be inducted into the SCCA Hall of Fame on March 2.

Joining Rahal in being honored are Skip Barber, Bill Noble, Carroll Shelby and Andy Porterfield. The SCCA National Hall of Fame was created in 2004 to preserve, protect and record the history and accomplishments of the Sports Car Club of America by acknowledging those members who have made a significant impact on its development.

Rahal was 22 years old when he was awarded the President’s Cup following his 1975 Formula B (soon to be renamed Formula Atlantic) National Championship. Using club racing as a springboard, Rahal went on to drive IMSA and in the SCCA Trans-Am Series. He won CART championships in 1986, 1987 and 1992, as well as the Rookie of the Year award in 1982.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing in November signed 2005 SCCA National Champion Graham Rahal (son of the Bobby) to drive in the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

Dallara facility hosts Family Fun Day

The Dallara facility on Main Street in Speedway, Ind., will host a free "Family Fun Day" from 11 a.m.-2 p.m. Jan. 12 in conjunction with the inauguration festivities of Indiana Gov.-elect Mike Pence.

The event will include food and music, and children can enjoy face-painting, a bounce house and coloring while Indiana University basketball fans can watch the Minnesota game in the Dallara theater while munching on popcorn. Pence and the next lieutenant governor, Sue Ellspermann, will be on hand.

Racing For Kids visit in Milwaukee

Reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Autosport, along with team owner Michael Andretti and Mazda Road to Indy drivers Zach Veach and Shelby Blackstock, will represent Racing For Kids at a visit with patients Jan. 16 at Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.

The visit is a day after Andretti hosts a screening of "Super Speedway" at the Majestic Cinema in Brookfield, Wis.

And the envelope please

Ilmor Engineering senior designer Tony Sime, who -- along with his team in the UK -- developed the 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V-6 engine for Chevrolet that secured the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series manufacturer championship, was nominated for the World Motorsport Symposium Race Engine Designer of the Year award.

The Chevy engine won 11 of the 15 races in the first year of manufacturer competition (Honda and Lotus) in the series since 2005.

Roger Griffiths, Honda Performance Development's technical director, and Allen Miller, HPD's performance development project leader, received the award this week for the engine that won the LMP2 class of the World Endurance Championship.

Deltran Battery Tender partners with RLL

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing announced Deltran Battery Tender, a leading manufacturer of high-efficiency battery chargers, as an Official Team Partner. The partnership will include both strategic branding and personal services with driver Graham Rahal and the No. 15 car. 

"This will be our first year of involvement with IndyCar racing and we plan on incorporating Graham and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing on many marketing ventures throughout the year," said Evin Prelec, Director of Advertising and Marketing for Deltran Battery Tender. 

Of note

Fan Force United has been awarded the 2012 KeyBank Community Leader Award given to the Firestone Indy Lights driver or team that best displays community outreach. ... KV Racing Technology driver Simona de Silvestro and Team Penske's Helio Castroneves will greet attendees of the North American International Auto Show on Jan. 25 in Detroit. ... Phil LePan, who was the Player's/Forsythe Racing Tea, manager during Paul Tracy's 2003 CART championship season and most recently team manager for Dale Coyne Racing, died. He was 64. A memorial service will be held in Feb. 16 in Toronto. ...Vitor Meira and Ana Beatriz are entered in the International Challenge of the Stars karting race in Brazil this weekend.