St. Petersburg By The Numbers

Some numbers to note from the eighth Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, the season-opening event of the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season, and the Mazda Road to Indy race weekend:

2 – Previous Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg winners that have gone on to win the IZOD IndyCar Series championship: Dan Wheldon in 2005 and Dario Franchitti 2011.

3 – Wins at St. Petersburg by Helio Castroneves.

5 – Wins at St. Petersburg by Team Penske.

7 –Teams represented in the top 10 of the series standings … Drivers who have won the season-opening race and also won the IZOD IndyCar Series title: Buzz Calkins (1996), Sam Hornish Jr. (2001 and 2002), Scott Dixon (2003 and 2008), Dan Wheldon (2005) and Dario Franchitti (2011).

8 – Races won by Spencer Pigot in 2012. Pigot won five of six races in the Cooper Tires USF2000 WinterFest and has won three of the four Cooper Tires USF2000 races held this season.

10 – Lead changes among seven drivers, matching the most lead changes in the seven previous Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg … Drivers who have won their Firestone Indy Light debut, including St. Petersburg 100 race winner Tristan Vautier.

13 – Positions improved by Charlie Kimball, the most positions gained by any driver. Kimball finished ninth, matching his career best.

15 – Top-five starts by Esteban Guerrieri, a Firestone Indy Lights record.

Click it: Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg box score || Lap chart