IZOD IndyCar Series Podium - Barber Motorsports Park

Reviewing the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season, with a look toward 2013, too. Today it's the races three and four:

Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach – April 15 on streets of Long Beach, Calif.

Will Power, who started the 38th Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach in Row 6 because of a penalty assessed on all 11 Chevrolet-powered cars for unapproved engine changes, overcame the deficit by stretching 18.5 gallons of E85 the last 21 laps on the 1.968-mile, 11-turn street circuit, all the while being chased down by Simon Pagenaud.

It was Team Penske's first Indy car victory at Long Beach since 2001 (Helio Castroneves), while Power won the Champ Car finale on the course in 2008 with KV Racing Technology.

Pagenaud, who pitted the No. 77 Honda-powered car for the final time on Lap 70 of 85, finished 0.8675 of a second back. Over the final three laps, he ran lap times 1.5-2 seconds quicker than Power (1:10.4941 to 1:12.0333 for instance on Lap 84).

Pagenaud, who led laps for the first time since 2007 in Belgium, also gave Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports its highest finish since Jaques Lazier at Nashville in 2001 (as Sam Schmidt Motorsports).

Seven different teams were represented in the top 10.

James Hinchcliffe, driving the No. 27 GoDaddy.com car for Andretti Autosport, finished third as teammate Ryan Hunter-Reay incurred a 30-second penalty on the final lap for avoidable contact with the No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing car. It was his first podium finish in his IZOD IndyCar Series career. Sato, seeking his first IZOD IndyCar Series podium, finished eighth. Hunter-Reay checked in sixth.

Tony Kanaan, who started 19th, finished a season-best fourth and JR Hildebrand was fifth -- his
best since placing fourth at Iowa last June. 

Watch the complete race: CLICK HERE
Box score: CLICK HERE
2013 date:
April 19-21
Tickets, info: http://www.gplb.com/index.html

Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 presented by Nestle – April 29 on streets of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Will Power won the Itaipava Sao Paulo Indy 300 presented by Nestle to score his third consecutive victory of the season and the third in a row at the Anhembi circuit.

Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, held off Ryan Hunter-Reay on a Lap 71 restart and won by 0.9045 of a second. Takuma Sato, who started 25th because of an unapproved Honda engine change and overcame a Lap 12 pit lane speed violation penalty, earned his first IZOD IndyCar Series podium finish.

Power is the first driver since Scott Dixon in 2007 to win three consecutive races (Watkins Glen, Nashville, Mid-Ohio).

Power inherited the point when Dixon pitted under caution on Lap 64, held off Hunter-Reay on the Lap 67 restart, which quickly turned into a Turn 1 parking lot that collected, among others, Dixon. Recognizing possibly his final opportunity to overtake Power, Hunter-Reay moved to the outside in Turn 1 of the Lap 71 green flag.

Helio Castroneves overtook front-row starter Dario Franchitti on that restart to finish fourth. Franchitti's No. 10 Lexar Media car for Target Chip Ganassi Racing was bumped from behind on a Lap 26 restart in Turn 1 to drop to 22nd.

James Hinchcliffe, JR Hildebrand and Charlie Kimball -- rookies in 2011 -- finished ahead of E.J. Viso in ninth and Rubens Barrichello in 10th.

Watch the complete race: CLICK HERE
Box score: CLICK HERE
2013 date: May 4-5