Championship winning team signs two new drivers for 2013

Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing has announced two drivers in the past two days as they prepare for their 2013 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda. American Neil Alberico and Canadian Scott Hargrove have been added to the championship-winning team's driver lineup.

Alberico is a 2012 Team USA Scholarship finalist and recently completed a successful USF2000 rookie season in which he finished seventh in the championship point standings. In addition to driving as a competitor, Alberico drove for the team in last two races of the F1600 Series in September. He finished on the podium in both races.

“It feels great to sign early,” Alberico said. “Now I am able to focus on getting a head start with winter testing. I’m more than excited to be working with Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing for the 2013 season. They are such a talented group of guys, and it’s really my pleasure to be apart of the team.”

Hargrove, 17, is the only young racing driver competing at any level in the Mazda Road to Indy from British Colombia, Canada. After a podium in the 2012 USF2000 Winterfest, Hargrove displayed impressive speed throughout the regular season, ending the year with three top five finishes in the last four races, including a podium result at the Baltimore Grand Prix. Along with USF2000 competition, Hargrove was nominated for Team Canada’s scholarship program for 2012, and was a podium finisher at the SKUSA Supernats for the second year in a row. Hargrove won karting championships in 2011 and 2012 and was named Rookie of the Year in the 2011 Skip Barber Summer Race Series, finishing series runner-up.

“The opportunity to represent such a highly respected team is truly an honor," Hargrove said. "Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing have proven they know how to get their drivers into the winners circle, and I am confident it is where I need to be in 2013. I know Dominic and Nicholas Cape will be there each step of the way to help me achieve my goal of winning the USF2000 championship. I know 2013 will be a year full of learning; I can’t wait to get started.”

In 2012, Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing drivers combined to win 12 of 14 races and led 208 out of 227 possible laps. Matthew Brabham claimed the USF2000 Championship and Henrik Furuseth won the National Class Championship, in addition to the team championship.

The season begins February 6 at at Sebring International Raceway with the 2013 Cooper Tires Winterfest.