Scott Dixon Wins at Belle Isle

Reviewing the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season, with a look toward 2013, too. Today it's the sixth and seventh races:

Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix – Sunday, June 3 at Raceway at Belle Isle Park

Scott Dixon, the pole sitter, led all 60 laps in the race shortened from 90 laps because of a two-hour red flag for crews to repair three sections of patched asphalt and concrete on the 14-turn course.

Dixon earned his 28th Indy car victory, passing Johnny Rutherford for 11th on the all-time list. Rick Mears (29) is next up. Dixon, who held on to finish 1.9628 seconds ahead of Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Dario Franchitti, also was joined on the stage by Simon Pagenaud as Honda swept the top three in Chevy's home race.

IZOD IndyCar Series points leader Will Power finished fourth and Oriol Servia advanced 12 positions relative to his starting spot to finish fifth. Dixon supplanted Helio Castroneves and James Hinchcliffe in second in the championship standings, closing to 26 of Power with the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway on tap.

The red flag was displayed at 4:53 p.m. (ET) -- about 68 minutes after the start of the race -- as IZOD IndyCar Series Race Director Beaux Barfield called the cars onto pit lane following the first full-course yellow flag of the race on Lap 40 when Hinchcliffe's No. 27 Team car struck a slice of asphalt that sent him into the tire barrier in Turn 7. Almost simultaneously, the No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing car of Takuma Sato slid into the Turn 12 wall.

Extensive construction work was done on the racing circuit this fall, with a reconfigured course -- extended to 2.35 miles and featuring a half-mile straight to increase overtaking opportunities. The 2013 race weekend will host the first doubleheader in IZOD IndyCar Series history (one race on Saturday and one on Sunday).

Box score: CLICK HERE
2013 date: May 31-June 2
Tickets and info:

Watch the complete race

Firestone 550 – Saturday, June 9 at Texas Motor Speedway

Justin Wilson charged from 17th on the starting grid to overtake Graham Rahal's mishandling car on Lap 226 of 228 to win the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway.

It was the first IZOD IndyCar Series oval victory for Wilson, who led Rahal across the start-finish line by 3.9202 seconds. Ryan Briscoe finished third and James Hinchcliffe was fourth. All four led multiple laps in the fast and furious race.

"It's just fantastic," said Wilson, driver of the No. 18 Sonny's BBQ whose previous best IZOD IndyCar Series oval finish was seventh. "(Team owner) Dale (Coyne) has put so much into making us competitive, so this one is for him and the team. I just can't believe we managed to pull this off. The car was fantastic, and on the long runs, it just got better and better."

Rahal appeared to be on his way to his first oval victory, but the No. 38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing car brushed the Turn 4 wall as he was fighting understeer.

Box score: CLICK HERE
2013 date: June 7-8
Tickets and info:

Watch the complete race