Dario Salutes Wheldon With Milk

Reviewing the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season, with a look toward 2013, too. Today it's the Indianapolis 500 -- the fifth race of the season:

96th Indianapolis 500 Mile Race – May 27 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion Dario Franchitti became the 10th driver with three or more Indianapolis 500 wins, holding off charges from Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon, Takuma Sato and Tony Kanaan over the final five laps to win the 96th Indianapolis 500.

Franchitti won under caution as Sato's No. 15 Rahal Letterman Racing car made slight contact with the left side Franchitti's No. 50 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car while running side-by-side for the lead on the white flag lap.  The contact shot Sato's car up the track and into the Turn 1 SAFER Barrier, bringing out the yellow flag.

Franchitti led teammate Scott Dixon and Kanaan under the twin checkered flags to cap a wild race featuring the new car-engine package. There were a record 34 lead changes among 10 drivers.

A few minutes later, in Victory Circle, Franchitti looked to the sky as a salute to Dan Wheldon. A few minutes afterward, he and wife Ashley Judd were joined on the victory lap by Susie Wheldon, who earlier in the weekend accepted the Champion of Champions ring and "Baby Borg" trophy on behalf of her husband.

Kanaan, seeking his first victory in his 11th 500 Mile Race and driving the No. 11 car ("my favorite number") for KV Racing Technology, had taken the lead on a Lap 184 restart.

Oriol Servia jumped from the 27th starting spot to finish fourth and pole sitter Ryan Briscoe was fifth. James Hinchcliffe, who started from the middle of the front row, finished sixth and Justin Wilson also had an Indy-best seventh-place finish. Charlie Kimball overcame a practice crash a week earlier to finish eighth, and Townsend Bell was ninth.

Three-time winner Helio Castroneves was 10th and Rubens Barrichello was the highest finishing rookie in 11th.

Watch the complete race: CLICK HERE
Box score: CLICK HERE
2013 date: May 26 Race Day; May 18 Pole Day
Tickets, info: