Will Power
Will  Power
Team Penske
Will Power
Career stats
Verizon IndyCar Series
Indy 500 Wins
Total Poles
Race Wins
Mar 1, 1981
12 Australia
Toowoomba, Australia
Mooresville, NC

Will Power got his start racing go-karts at the age 6, but it wasn't until 2000 that Power realized he wanted to make a career in racing. He started out in the Formula Ford State Series, earning the Queensland State Championship, before moving onto the Australian Formula 3 Championship placing second overall, despite missing the first four races.

As his success grew, Power decided to make the move to England, where he would compete in the British F3 and World Series by Renault Championships. He made his Verizon IndyCar Series debut in 2008. He earned his first series championship in 2014.

When time permits, he returns to Australia to see family and friends and catch some waves. Squash, touch rugby and cricket are sports Power plays to relax and unwind.
2015 Verizon IndyCar Series 16 1 6 7 10 298 13
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 3 4 8 15 623 18
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 19 3 3 7 9 351 15
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 15 3 5 7 10 294 12
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 6 8 11 12 518 15
2010 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 5 8 11 13 460 16
2009 Verizon IndyCar Series 6 1 2 4 6 135 6
2008 Verizon IndyCar Series 16 0 0 2 5 3 11
2008 Champ Car 1 1 0 1 1 81 1
2007 Champ Car 14 2 5 8 9 153 11
2006 Champ Car 14 0 1 3 9 14 13
2005 Champ Car 2 0 0 0 1 0 0
Total 155 25 42 69 100 2930 131

* Under INDYCAR sanction

** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points

RAF = Running at Finish

Team Penske

Roger Penske has been racing and winning in the United States since 1958 and has scored victories in every series in which he has competed.

Penske was one of America's most successful young road racers before he retired from driving in 1965 to focus on his business interests. He fielded Corvettes in the 1966 endurance races at Daytona and Sebring before joining forces with driver Mark Donohue to race in the USRRC and Can-Am sports car series. Penske Racing found success early with Donohue, winning two consecutive USRRC championships and three SCCA Trans-Am championships.

Penske Racing and Donohue moved into Indy car racing by racing in two USAC-sanctioned road races in 1968. In 1969, the team entered the Indianapolis 500 for the first time, and Donohue finished seventh, earning Rookie of the Year honors.

Since then, a Penske Racing car has been in Victory Circle at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway 15 times -- most recently in 2009 with Helio Castroneves -- and won the Verizon IndyCar Series championship in 2006 with Sam Hornish Jr. and 2014 with Will Power.

Drivers who have competed in Penske Racing cars in CART and the Verizon IndyCar Series include Mario Andretti, Al Unser, Bobby Unser, Al Unser Jr., Tom Sneva, Rick Mears, Danny Sullivan, Emerson Fittipaldi, Paul Tracy, Al Unser Jr., Gil de Ferran, Gary Bettenhausen, Paul Tracy, Andre Ribiero, Ryan Briscoe, Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud.



First Start
October 23, 2005
Surfers Paradise
First Win
April 8, 2007
Las Vegas (Street)
First Pole
October 21, 2006
Surfers Paradise

Verizon IndyCar Series Highlights

  • 2014
    • Finished first in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
    • Recorded wins at St. Petersburg, Belle Isle Race 1 and Milwaukee.
    • Posted 15 top-10 finishes in the 18 races.
    • Earned four pole starts, including Texas for second year in a row.
    • Led 11 races for total of series-high 623 laps.
  • 2013
    • Finished fourth in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
    • Recorded victories at Sonoma, Houston Race 2 and Auto Club Speedway (the latter two in a row).
    • Earned three poles, including the season opener and season finale.
    • Posted seven top-five and nine top-10 finishes overall.
    • Led 15 races for total of 351 laps.
    • Was running at finish in 16 races.
  • 2012
    • Finished second in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
    • Recorded wins at Barber, Long Beach and Sao Paulo (all in a row).
    • Posted 10 top-10 finishes overall.
    • Earned poles at St. Petersburg, Sao Paulo, Mid-Ohio, Sonoma and Baltimore (the latter three in a row).
    • Paced all drivers with 10 races led for 294 laps.
  • 2011
    • Finished second in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
    • Recorded six victories (Barber, Sao Paulo, Texas Race 2, Edmonton, Infineon, Baltimore).
    • Earned series record-tying eight pole positions, with a season-long average starting position of 3.6.
    • Led 13 of the 17 races for 518 laps.
    • Performed clean sweep at Barber -- won pole, led most laps, won race.
    • Won Mario Andretti Road Trophy for second consecutive year.
  • 2010
    • Finished second in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
    • Recorded five victories (Sao Paulo, St. Petersburg, Watkins Glen, Toronto, Infineon).
    • Had 13 top-10 finishes overall.
    • Earned series-record eight poles.
    • Won inaugural Mario Andretti Road Trophy.
  • 2009
    • Recorded one victory and four top-five finishes in six races for Penske Racing.
    • Earned pole start at Long Beach and finished second.
    • Led 90 of 95 laps to post first victory at Edmonton following series merger.
  • 2008
    • Finished 12th in IndyCar Series standings for KV Racing Technology.
    • Won on the streets of Long Beach in Champ Car-sanctioned finale.
    • Recorded five top-10 finishes, closing season with eighth- and fifth-place finishes.
  • 2007
    • Finished fourth in the Champ Car World Series for Team Australia with wins at Las Vegas and Toronto.
    • Earned pole positions at Las Vegas, Edmonton, Surfers Paradise and Mexico City.
    • Recorded eight top-five and nine top-10 finishes.
  • 2006
    • Named Champ Car Rookie of the Year Award after finishing sixth in standings for Team Australia.
    • Earned three top-five finishes and nine top-10 finishes.
    • Won pole position at Surfers Paradise.
  • 2005
    • Competed in two Champ Car World Series races with Team Australia with best finish of 10th at Mexico City.

Will's Road To Indy

  • 2005
    • Finished Finished fourth (sprint) and second (feature) for Australia in A1GP event at Brands Hatch.
    • Finished seventh in the World Series powered by Renault for Carlin Motorsport with wins at Le Mans and Bilbao.
  • 2004
    • Finished ninth for Alan Docking Racing in British F3 with five podium finishes.
    • Earned tests with Minardi Formula 1, European F3000 and World Series Powered by Renault teams.
  • 2003
    • Competed in British F3 Championship with Diamond Racing, finishing 14th in standings.
    • Recorded four top-five finishes topped by second place at Thurxton.
  • 2002
    • Won the Formula Holden Championship in Australia and was second in the Australian F3 series.
    • Competed in the Bathurst 1000 V8 Supercar event.
  • Early Career
    • Finished second in the Formula Ford National Championship in Australia in 2001.
    • Invited to the Honda Indy Young Guns event at Surfers Paradise and finished second in that event.
    • Won Queensland state championship in Formula Ford and finished seventh in Formula Ford National Championship in 2000.