Verizon IndyCar Series - Simon Pagenaud

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske
Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport
Simon Pagenaud
Simon Pagenaud
Driver Info
Simon Pagenaud
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of Simon Pagenaud

Simon Pagenaud grew up and raced in France and now makes North Carolina his home. His nickname is “Jean Gerrard,” after the French character in the movie “Talladega Nights.” 

After competing in three Verizon IndyCar Series races in 2011, Pagenaud moved to the series full time in 2012 and earned the Sunoco Rookie of the Year award. In 2013, he won twice and finished third in the championship. In 2014, he added two victories and finished fifth in the standings. He moved from Schmidt Peterson Motorsports to Team Penske for the 2015 season.

First start:
April 10, 2011 (Barber Motorsports Park)
First victory: June 2, 2013 (Belle Isle)
First pole: June 29, 2014 (Houston 1)

• Finished fifth in Verizon IndyCar Series for Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports.
• Recorded victories in inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis and Houston 2.
• Posted 12 top-10 finishes and was running at the finish in 17 of the 18 races.
• Earned first Indy car pole at Houston 1.
• Led four races for total of 59 laps.

• Finished third in IndyCar Series standings for Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports.
• Recorded two victories on street courses (Belle Isle 2 and Baltimore).
• Posted five top-five and 13 top-10 finishes overall.
• Qualified season-high third at Houston 2.
• Led three races for 39 total laps.
• Was running at finish in 17 races.

• Finished fifth in IndyCar Series standings for Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports.
• Recorded nine top-10 finishes, with a best of second at Long Beach.
• Received Sunoco Rookie of the Year award. 

• Competed in three races with two different teams, with a best finish of eigth in series debut at Barber Motorsports Park.



• Competed in American Le Mans Series, driving for Patron Highcroft Racing.
• With co-drivers Marino Franchitti and David Brabham, finished second overall in Twelve Hours of Sebring season opener.
• Competed in Intercontinental Le Mans Cup, driving for Peugeot Sport Total. Co-drove second-place car in Le Mans 24 Hours.


• Won the American Le Mans Series LMP championship, driving for Patron Highcroft Racing with teammate David Brabham.
• Scored four class victories and three overall wins.
• Competed in Le Mans 24 Hours, driving for Peugeot factory team.


• Finished second in American Le Mans Series LMP championship, driving for de Ferran Motorsports.
• Earned five overall and class victories.
• Compted in Le Mans 24 Hours, driving for Pescarolo.


• Finished ninth in American Le Mans Series LMP championship, driving for de Ferran Motorsports.
• Comped in Le Mans 24 Hours, driving for ORECA.


• Finished eighth in Champ Car World Series standings, driving for Team Australia.
• best finish of fourth at Montreal, Toronto and Edmonton.


• Won Champ Car Atlantic Series title in 2006 for Team Australia.
• Earned a victory at Edmonton and five other podium finishes.


• Finished 15th in World Series by Renault standings, driving for Saulnier Racing.


• Finished second in European Formula Renault standings, driving for Graff Racing.
• Earned two victories and two poles.
• Competed in French Formula Renault.


• Competed in Formula Renault, driving for Graff Racing.
• Competed in French Formula Renault.


• Finished second in French Formula Renault standings.
• Earned Rookie of the Year honors.


• Finished second in Formula Renault Campus championship.
• Earned four victories.

Early career
• Won Elf ACO Challenge in 2000. … Started career in karting from 1994-99.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 2 1 8 12 59 17
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 19 2 0 5 13 39 17
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 15 0 0 6 9 63 14
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 3 0 0 0 1 0 3
2007 Champ Car 14 0 0 6 10 19 13
Total 69 4 1 25 45 180 64
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

Team co-owner Sam Schmidt made 27 career starts in the IndyCar Series as a driver, earning one victory and pole position, both achievements in his hometown of Las Vegas in September 1999 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway while driving for Treadway Racing.

In January 2000, Schmidt became a quadriplegic due to injuries suffered in a testing crash at Orlando, Fla. Schmidt puts his master's degree in international finance from Pepperdine University to work managing the marketing efforts for his team and the strategic direction of the Sam Schmidt Paralysis Foundation.

In late-2012, Schmidt and Ric Peterson, founder and COO of Oculus Transport Ltd., announced the formation of a partnership as owners of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports in the Verizon IndyCar Series and Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires.