Verizon IndyCar Series - Sebastien Bourdais

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport
Simon Pagenaud Team Penske
Sebastien Bourdais Hero Picture
Sebastien  Bourdais
KVSH Racing
  • 11
  • France
Sebastien Bourdais
Driver Info
Sebastien Bourdais
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of Sebastien Bourdais

Sebastien Bourdais was born into a racing family as his father, Patrick, competed in touring car and sports cars. He started competing in karting at age 10 and progressed to single-seat cars in 1995.

After moving the United States to compete in Champ Car with Newman/Haas Racing in 2003, Bourdais found his groove. He won four consecutive driver championships. With the success and seeking new challenges, Bourdais hooked up with Scuderia Toro Rosso to compete in Formula One, where he competed in 27 races over two seasons. Bourdais also has competed in the Superleague Formula, the Intercontinental Le Mans Cup and Grand-Am. Bourdais co-drove the winning entry in the 2014 Rolex 24 At Daytona.

He joined the Verizon IndyCar Series full time in 2012.


First start: May 29, 2005 (Indianapolis)
First pole: July 19, 2014 (Toronto1)
First victory: July 19, 2014 (Toronto1)

• Finished 10th in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for KVSH Racing.
• Won from the pole at Toronto -- his 32nd Indy car career victory (in 131 starts).
• Also earned pole at Mid-Ohio -- his 33rd Indy car career pole.
• Recorded five top-five and seven top-10 finishes.

• Finished 12th in IndyCar Series standings for Dragon Racing.
• Recorded four top-five and six top-10 finishes, with a best of second in the first race of Toronto doubleheader.
• Led four races for total of 87 laps.
• Had best starting position of second in Toronto 1.

• Finished 24th in IndyCar Series standings, competing in 11 of 15 events for Dragon Racing.
• Recorded two top-10 finishes, with best of fourth at Mid-Ohio.
• Advanced to the Firestone Fast Six qualifying in three of his final five races, with a high qualifying position of third at Sonoma.

• Competed in nine IndyCar Series races for Dale Coyne Racing with a best finish of sixth four times.
• Recorded five top-10 finishes.
• Had a best starting spot of fifth at Baltimore.



• Competed in SuperLeague Formula for Olympique Lyonnais, scoring a win at Silverstone 2.
• Made three starts for Team Peugeot Total in endurance sports car races at LeMans (won pole), Sebring (finished second overall) and Spa-Francorchamps (pole and race win).
• Competed in Rolex 24 at Daytona and as International Guest Driver in V8 SuperCars round at Surfers Paradise.


• Finished 19th in Formula 1 World Championship for Scuderia Toro Rosso, scoring two points in nine starts.
• Competed in eight SuperLeague Formula events for Sevilla FC with two wins, one pole and six podium finishes to finish ninth in the championship.
• Made two starts for Team Peugeot Total, scoring podium finishes at the 24 Hours of LeMans and 12 Hours of Sebring.


• Finished 17th in the Formula 1 World Championship for Scuderia Toro Rosso with best finish of seventh at Australia and Belgium.


• Won fourth consecutive Champ Car World Series title for Newman/Haas Racing with eight wins and six pole positions in 14 starts.
• Won consecutive races at Long Beach, Houston and Portland. Also won at Edmonton, Zolder, Road America, Surfers Paradise and Mexico City.


• Won third consecutive Champ Car World Series title for Newman/Haas Racing with seven wins, including four in a row to start the season.
• Won at Long Beach, Houston, Monterrey, Milwaukee, San Jose, Montreal and Mexico City.


• Repeated as Champ Car World Series champion for Newman/Haas Racing with six victories.
• Won Crown Royal International Race of Champions event at Texas Motor Speedway.
• Competed in Rolex 24 at Daytona and 12 Hours of Sebring.


• Won Champ Car World Series championship for Newman/Haas Racing with seven wins (Monterrey, Portland, Cleveland, Toronto, Denver, Las Vegas, Mexico City).
• Scored eight pole positions and 10 podium finishes in 14 races.
• Finished third with co-driver Rod Millen in the SCORE Tecate Baja 1000.
• Competed in 24 Hours of Le Mans and Race of Champions.


• Finished fourth in Champ Car World Series for Newman/Haas Racing with three victories (Brands Hatch, Lausitzring, Cleveland), five pole positions and seven podium finishes.
• Named Jim Trueman Rookie of the Year and became the first rookie to win the Greg Moore Legacy Award.
• Became the first rookie in series history to lead the first lap of his first Champ Car start and first driver in series history to win from pole in his oval racing debut.


• Won FIA International F3000 championship for Team Super Nova Racing with three wins (Imola, Monaco, Nurburgring) and six pole positions.
• Finished second in FIA Sport Championship for Team Pescarolo Sport with two wins and one pole position.
• Finished 10th in 24 Hours of Le Mans and won 24 Hours of Spa.


• Finished fourth in FIA International F3000 championship for Team DAMS with one win (Silverstone).
• Competed in both 24 Hours of Le Mans and 12 Hours of Sebring.


• Finished ninth in FIA International F3000 championship for Prost Junior team with best finish of second at Magny-Cours in France.
• Finished fourth in 24 Hours of Le Mans.


• Won French Formula 3 championship for Team La Filiere with eight wins and three pole positions in 17 events.


• Finished sixth as rookie in French Formula 3 championship for Team La Filiere with best finish of third.


• Finished second in French Formula Renault championship for Team La Filiere with four wins, five pole positions and 11 podium finishes in 16 races.


• Finished third in French Formula Renault championship for Team La Filiere with best finish of third.
• Won 24 Hours of Le Mans karting race with co-drivers Besnault, Burriault and Le Ficheant.


• Finished ninth in French Formula Campus championship for Team La Filiere with best finish of second.

Early career
• Competed in kart racing, winning the Maine Bretagne League.
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2015 Verizon IndyCar Series 16 2 0 4 8 145 14
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 1 2 5 7 98 15
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 19 0 0 4 6 87 15
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 11 0 0 1 2 0 7
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 9 0 0 0 5 0 6
2007 Champ Car 14 8 6 10 12 463 11
2006 Champ Car 14 7 7 11 13 522 12
2005 Verizon IndyCar Series 1 0 0 0 0 0 1
2005 Champ Car 13 6 5 11 12 358 12
2004 Champ Car 14 7 8 11 12 506 11
2003 Champ Car 18 3 5 9 10 254 11
Total 147 34 33 66 87 2433 115
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
KVSH Racing

The team was formed in January 2003 as a single-car operation under the banner of KV Racing. In 2004, the Indianapolis-based team expanded to a two-car effort when Jimmy Vasser joined as a driver in addition to co-owning the operation with Kevin Kalkhoven, becoming PKV Racing.

Vasser, the 1996 CART champion, also raced with the team in the Champ Car finale at Long Beach in 2008. The team joined the IndyCar Series in 2008.

Kalkhoven, who was also a co-owner of the Champ Car World Series, is a successful venture capitalist. In 2011, KV Racing Technology announced an alliance with SH Racing for the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race, and it expanded for the 2014 season with James "Sulli" Sullivan joining as a co-owner.