Juan Pablo Montoya
Juan Pablo  Montoya
Team Penske
Juan Pablo Montoya
Career stats
Verizon IndyCar Series
Indy 500 Wins
Total Poles
Race Wins
Sep 20, 1975
22 Chevrolet Columbia
Website jpmontoya.com/
Merchandise Link Purchase Gear
Bogota, Colombia


  • Only driver to win the CART championship (1999), Indianapolis 500 (2000) and Rolex 24 At Daytona (2007), all in his first attempt
  • Returned to Indy car racing in 2014 after six seasons competing in Formula One and seven in NASCAR
  • Claimed his second Indianapolis 500 victory in 2015 in just his third start in the famed race
  • One of just three drivers to win races in Indy cars, Formula One and NASCAR (Mario Andretti and Dan Gurney were the others


  • Spends a lot of time with his family and coaches his son, Sebastian, who is a national champion kart racer
  • Builds and flies model airplanes, also enjoys building and operating radio controlled cars and helicopters
  • An avid bicycler and windsurfer
  • Has a high-end watch collection
  • Founded Formula Smiles Foundation with his wife, Connie, to improve the lives of disadvantaged children in his native Colombia.
2016 Verizon IndyCar Series 16 1 0 5 10 123 13
2015 Verizon IndyCar Series 16 2 0 9 13 145 15
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 1 1 8 9 167 17
2000 Verizon IndyCar Series 1 1 0 1 1 167 1
2000 CART 20 3 7 5 9 820 8
1999 CART 20 7 7 10 13 954 15
Total 91 15 15 38 55 2376 69

** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points

RAF = Running at Finish

Team Penske

Roger Penske has been racing and winning in the United States since 1958 and has scored victories in every series in which he has competed.

Penske was one of America's most successful young road racers before he retired from driving in 1965 to focus on his business interests. He fielded Corvettes in the 1966 endurance races at Daytona and Sebring before joining forces with driver Mark Donohue to race in the USRRC and Can-Am sports car series. Penske Racing found success early with Donohue, winning two consecutive USRRC championships and three SCCA Trans-Am championships.

Penske Racing and Donohue moved into Indy car racing by racing in two USAC-sanctioned road races in 1968. In 1969, the team entered the Indianapolis 500 for the first time, and Donohue finished seventh, earning Rookie of the Year honors.

Since then, a Penske Racing car has been in Victory Circle at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway 15 times -- most recently in 2009 with Helio Castroneves -- and won the Verizon IndyCar Series championship in 2006 with Sam Hornish Jr. and 2014 with Will Power.

Drivers who have competed in Penske Racing cars in CART and the Verizon IndyCar Series include Mario Andretti, Al Unser, Bobby Unser, Al Unser Jr., Tom Sneva, Rick Mears, Danny Sullivan, Emerson Fittipaldi, Paul Tracy, Al Unser Jr., Gil de Ferran, Gary Bettenhausen, Paul Tracy, Andre Ribiero, Ryan Briscoe, Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud.



Team Website teampenske.com
First Start
March 21, 1999
First Win
April 18, 1999
Long Beach
First Pole
May 2, 1999

Verizon IndyCar Series Highlights

  • 2015
    • Won his second Indianapolis 500, the 16th win in the race for car owner Roger Penske
    • Scored victory at St. Petersburg and recorded five podium finishes as he finished second in Verizon IndyCar Series standings
    • Led the championship after 15 of the 16 races
  • 2014
    • Finished fourth in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
    • Recorded victory at Pocono Raceway among eight top-five finishes.
    • Earned pole start at Pocono.
    • Led six races for total of 167 laps.
  • 2000
    • Became first driver in 34 years to win the Indianapolis 500 in first start, driving for Target Chip Ganassi Racing.
    • Won three CART races for Target Chip Ganassi Racing.
  • 1999
    • Won CART championship in his first season for Target Chip Ganassi Racing.
    • Earned seven wins.
    • Won Jim Trueman Rookie of the Year honors.

Juan's Road To Indy

  • 2013
    • Finished 21st in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings for Earnhardt Ganassi Racing.
    • Recorded four top-five finishes and eight top-10 results.
    • Won third Rolex 24 Hours At Daytona.
  • 2012
    • Finished 22nd in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings for Earnhardt Ganassi Racing.
    • Recorded back-to-back pole positions at Pocono Raceway and Watkins Glen International.
    • Competed in two Grand-Am Series races – the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona and the Brickyard Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway – as he finished fourth in both events.
  • 2011
    • Finished 21st in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings for Earnhardt Ganassi Racing.
    • Recorded two top-five finishes and eight top-10 results.
    • Won pole positions at Auto Club Speedway in March and Richmond International Raceway in April.
    • Scored second-place finish in the Rolex 24 Hours At Daytona.
  • 2010
    • Finished 17th in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings.
    • Led 74 of 90 laps at Watkins Glen International in August to score his second victory, becoming the first foreign-born driver to win multiple series races.
    • Won pole positions at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in June, Indianapolis Motor Speedway in July and Talladega Superspeedway in October.
    • Recorded six top-five finishes and 14 top-10 results.
  • 2009
    • Finished eighth in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings.
    • Became the first foreign-born driver, first former Formula One driver and first Indianapolis 500 champion to qualify for Chase for the Championship.
    • Won first career series pole position at Talladega in April.
    • Recorded seven top-five and 18 top-10 finishes.
  • 2008
    • Became the first driver in history to win the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona in his first two starts.
    • Recorded two top-five finishes and three top-10 finishes in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competition.
  • 2007
    • Won NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year and finished 20th in standings.
    • Recorded one win, three top-five finishes and six top-10 results.
    • Won his first Rolex 24 Hours At Daytona in his first start.
    • Won first NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico City in his seventh career start.
  • 2006
    • Competed for the McLaren Mercedes team in Formula One.
    • Recorded two podium results.
    • Made ARCA starts at Talladega Superspeedway and Iowa Speedway.
  • 2005
    • Joined McLaren Mercedes in Formula One and earned his first win for team in the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.
    • Won the Italian Grand Prix at Monza and the Grand Prix of Brazil at Interlagos.
  • 2004
    • Recorded F1 victory in final race of season at Brazil for Williams BMW team.
  • 2003
    • Claimed nine podiums overall.
    • Finished third in Formula One standings for Williams BMW.
    • Recorded victories at Monaco and Germany.
  • 2002
    • Earned seven Formula One pole positions for Williams.
  • 2001
    • Made Formula One debut at the Australian Grand Prix, qualifying 11th and finishing fifth.
    • Won first F1 race at the Italian Grand Prix at Monza.
    • Earned three pole positions and four podium finishes.
  • 1997-1998
    • Raced in the Formula 3000 series while also becoming a Formula One test driver for the Williams BMW team.
    • Won the 1998 Formula 3000 championship.
  • Early Career
    • Became four-time Columbian National Karting Champion from 1981-84.
    • Raced in Junior World Cup Go-Karting Championship in 1990, alongside teammate Helio Castroneves.
    • Finished third in 1995 British Formula Vauxhall Championship.
    • Finished fifth in the 1996 British Formula 3 Series.