Verizon IndyCar Series - Josef Newgarden

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport
Charlie Kimball Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing
Josef Newgarden
Josef Newgarden
Driver Info
Josef Newgarden
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of Josef Newgarden

Josef Newgarden of Hendersonville, Tenn., earned the 2011 Indy Lights championship and entered the Verizon IndyCar Series for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing the next season. He's competing for CFH Racing (merger of Ed Carpenter Racing and Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing) for the 2015 season.

He drove a kart for the first time in 2004 at the age of 13 and in 2006 took titles in two classes of the Kart Racers of America. The same year he began his single-seater career in the Skip Barber Racing School series, where he finished as runner-up in the Southern Regional Series with three wins and another seven podiums. 

In 2008, he earned the opportunity to compete in the BRSCC Formula Ford Festival as part of the Team USA Scholarship program and became the first American winner (Kent class) in the 36-year history of the event. He moved to the British Formula Ford Championship in 2009 and was runner-up with nine wins and also won two out of three races he contested in the Formula Palmer Audi Series (UK). 

In 2010, Newgarden moved into the GP3 Series, where he scored five top 10s, three front-row starts and one pole position in 16 races.


First race: March 25, 2012 (St. Petersburg)

• Finished 13th in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.
• Recorded seven top-10 finishes, with best of second at Iowa after starting 21st.
• Led five races for total of 20 laps.

• Finished 14th in IndyCar Series standings for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.
• Recorded four top-five finishes, with a best of second at Baltimore after starting season-high fifth.
• Was running at the finish in 16 of the 19 races.

• Finished 23rd in IndyCar Series standings for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.
• Missed Baltimore race with hand injury.
• Had best finish of 11th in season opener.


• Won Firestone Indy Lights championship, driving for Sam Schmidt Motorsports.
• Earned five victories and 10 podium finishes overall in the 14 races.

• Posted a best finish of fifth in the GP3 Series season finale at Monza. Also won pole at Hockenheimring. Finished 18th in standings.

• Finished runner-up in British Formula Ford Championship, recording nine victories.
• Competed in opening round of Formula Palmer Audi season at Brands Hatch, recording two victories and a fourth place in the third race. 

• Finished as runner-up in BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda championship, recording three victories.
• Competed in Formula Ford, winning the Kent Class at the Formula Ford Festival.

• Finished sixth in BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda championship, recording two victories.

• Earned two titles in Karts Racers of America championship.
• Won the Junior TAG World Championship for second consecutive year.
• Finished runner-up in Skip Barber Southern Regional Series with three victories and 10 podium finishes overall. Named Rookie of the Year.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 0 0 2 7 20 12
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 19 0 0 4 7 0 16
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 14 0 0 0 0 1 8
Total 51 0 0 6 14 21 36
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2011 Indy Lights 14 5 3 10 13 395 13
Total 14 5 3 10 13 395 13
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

Veteran open-wheel racing driver Sarah Fisher announced plans to become the IZOD IndyCar Series first female owner/driver and the youngest team owner on Feb. 27, 2008.

The team competed in three events in 2008, grew 100 percent in 2009 to six races and competed in 15 total events in 2010, during the team's first season initiating a two-car effort. Fisher announced plans of retirement following her 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series season. The 2011 season consisted of several achievements for SFR, including a top-10 qualifying effort at Indianapolis and a victory in October at Kentucky Speedway.

For the 2012 season, the team name expanded to Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing with the addition of businessman Wink Hartman as a partner. He was one of the first sponsors on board the No. 67 entry in the 2008 Indy 500 and has been a part of the team since.

Fisher was the first female in IndyCar Series history to start from the pole and earn a podium finish. Fisher has completed in the Indianapolis 500 nine times and was voted Most Popular Driver four times.