Verizon IndyCar Series - James Hinchcliffe

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Ryan Briscoe NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing
Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
James Hinchcliffe
James  Hinchcliffe
Andretti Autosport
  • 27
  • Canada
James Hinchcliffe
Driver Info
James Hinchcliffe
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of James Hinchcliffe

James Hinchcliffe is the "Mayor of Hinchtown," which is his Internet city that welcomes everyone to visit.

Hinchcliffe, of Toronto, likes long walks on the beach, flannel shirts, maple syrup and dog sled racing. "I am also a competitive lumber jack in my spare time," he jokes. As you can tell, Hinchcliffe has quite the personality.

He's also an accomplished race car driver, having finished second in the 2010 Indy Lights championship. In 2011, he was the Sunoco Rookie of the Year in the Verizon IndyCar Series and broke through in the victory column in 2013 with three race wins with Andretti Autosport. He moved to Schmidt Peterson Motorsports for the 2015 season.


First start: April 10, 2011 (Barber Motorsports Park)
First victory: March 24, 2013 (St. Petersburg)

• Finished 12th in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Andretti Autosport.
• Recorded four top-five finishes, with best of third at Mid-Ohio.
• Led five races for total of 75 laps.

• Finished eighth in IndyCar Series standings for Andretti Autosport.
• Recorded three victories and six top-five finishes overall.
• Closed season with third- and fourth-place finishes at Houston and Auto Club Speedway.
• Led five races for total of 264 laps.
• Was running at the finish in 15 races.

• Finished eighth in IndyCar Series standings for Andretti Autosport.
• Recorded eight top-10 finishes, with best of third at Long Beach and Milwaukee.
• Had best qualifying position of second at Barber.

• Finished 12th in IndyCar Series standings for Newman/Haas Racing.
• Named Sunoco Rookie of the Year.
• Recorded seven top-10 finishes, with a best of fourth at Long Beach, New Hampshire and Kentucky.


• Finished second in Firestone Indy Lights championship for Team Moore Racing with three wins (Long Beach, Edmonton and Chicagoland).
• Had series-best four pole positions (St. Petersburg, Long Beach, Watkins Glen and Edmonton).
• Had 10 top-five finishes and 12 top-10 finishes in 13 starts.
• Won Greg Moore Legacy Award as Firestone Indy Lights’ rising star.

• Finished fifth in Firestone Indy Lights for Sam Schmidt Motorsports with best finish of second at Mid-Ohio.
• Recorded five podium finishes, six top-five and 10 top-10 finishes in 15 starts.

• Finished fourth in the Atlantic Championship for Forsythe/Pettit Racing with a win at Laguna Seca, two poles and four podium finishes.

• Finished fourth in the Atlantic Championship for Sierra Sierra Enterprises. Earned three pole positions, six top-five results and nine top-10 results in 12 races.
• Competed for Team Canada in the A1 Grand Prix series.2006: Enjoyed a strong rookie season in the Atlantic Championship with Forsythe Championship Racing.
• Scored three podium results, including third at Long Beach, his first series victory at Portland and a third-place run at Montreal, where he also captured his first Atlantic pole.

• Finished third in Star Mazda with three victories, three poles and six podium results.
• Finished the season ranked second among all rookies.

• Earned Formula BMW USA Rookie of the Year honors after scoring three wins, four poles and 10 podium finishes.
• Earned Atlantic test with Polestar Racing Group at Sebring.

• Earned five wins, four poles and 11 podium results while finishing third in the Bridgestone Racing Academy F2000 series.

Early Career
• Captured the TKC Junior Rotax Class Karting Championship with seven wins in seven starts in 2002. … Earned Junior Rotax Canada Cup title and won TKC Winter Series Championship in 2002. … Competed in several regional and national karting series and championships throughout the United States and Canada.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 0 0 4 8 75 15
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 19 3 0 6 11 264 15
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 15 0 0 5 8 39 11
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 16 0 0 3 7 26 13
Total 68 3 0 18 34 404 54
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2010 Indy Lights 13 3 0 10 12 117 11
2009 Indy Lights 15 0 0 6 10 20 12
Total 28 3 0 16 22 137 23
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
Andretti Autosport

Based in Indianapolis and led by racing legend Michael Andretti, Andretti Autosport fields multiple entries in the Verizon IndyCar Series. Andretti Autosport also campaigns multiple cars in Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires and the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires.

The company boasts four IndyCar Series championships (2004, 2005, 2007 and 2012), two Indy Lights titles (2008 and 2009), one USF2000 championship (2010) and has won the Indianapolis 500 in 2005, 2007 and 2014.

Andretti competed for 19 years in CART before moving to the IndyCar Series in 2003. He retired from full-time driving following the 2003 Indianapolis 500 to concentrate on team ownership and drove for the final time in the 2006 Indianapolis 500.