Verizon IndyCar Series - JR Hildebrand

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Simona de Silvestro Andretti Autosport
Oriol Servia Andretti Autosport
 JR Hildebrand
JR  Hildebrand
CFH Racing
  • 6
  • USA
Josef Newgarden
Driver Info
Josef Newgarden
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of JR Hildebrand

JR Hildebrand's passion for open-wheel racing outweighed his post-secondary educational pursuits.

Hildebrand, who graduated from Redwood High School in Corte Madera, Calif., was a member of the California Scholarship Federation and was a National Merit Scholar. He passed on an opportunity to attend the Massachusetts Institute of Technology to pursue a career in motorsports.

Hildebrand quickly moved from karting to the Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 title, the Atlantic Championship and then to Firestone Indy Lights. He earned his first career victory at Kansas Speedway in 2008 in his second start on an oval track. The following year, he dominated the championship, capturing four victories and six poles en route to the series title.

In 2010, he made his Verizon IndyCar Series debut with Dreyer & Reinbold Racing at Mid-Ohio and later in the season competed at Sonoma Raceway. In 2011, he finished as runner-up in the Indianapolis 500 as a rookie driving for Panther Racing.

Hildebrand played varsity baseball in high school and enjoys cycling near his home in Colorado. He maintains a rooting interest in the San Francisco Giants and 49ers.

First start: Aug. 8, 2010 (Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course)

Competed in the Indianapolis 500 for Ed Carpenter Racing, starting ninth and finishing 10th.

• Competed in seven races for Panther Racing and Barracuda Racing.
• Recorded best finish of fifth at Long Beach and best qualifying effort of 10th at Indianapolis.

• Finished 11th in IndyCar Series standings for Panther Racing.
• Recorded six top-10 finishes, with a best of fifth at Long Beach and Texas.
• Had a high qualifying position of fifth at Barber.

• Finished 14th in IndyCar Series standings for Panther Racing.
• Runner-up in Sunoco Rookie of the Year standings.
• Recorded five top-10 finishes, with a best of second in the 100th anniversary Indianapolis 500.
• Voted Chase Rookie of the Year for Indianapolis 500.

• Competed in two races for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing with best finish of 16th at Mid-Ohio.



• Won Firestone Indy Lights championship driving for ARPRO Andretti Green/AFS Racing.
• Won races at Long Beach, Watkins Glen, Edmonton and Infineon in addition to seven other top-five finishes.
• Had six pole starts and led series-high 241 laps.

• Finished fifth in Firestone Indy Lights for RLR/Andersen Racing.
• Won first career race at Kansas, also recorded eight top-five and 12 top-10 finishes.

• Made Firestone Indy Lights debut at Infineon doubleheader with RLR/Andersen Racing.
• Finished seventh in Champ Car Atlantic competition for Newman-Wachs Racing, recording a best finish of second at Cleveland.

• Won Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 championship for Cape Motorsports, recording a record-setting 12 victories in 14 races.
• Made Champ Car Atlantic debut.

• Finished second in Pacific F2000 championship, recording two victories and nine podiums in 12 races.
• Competed in four Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 events.
• Finished third in Formula Palmer Audi Autumn Cup after winning Team USA Scholarship.

• Won SCCA Formula Russell Championship, recording seven victories and 11 podiums.
• Named SCCA Formula Russell Rookie of the Year.
• Selected as Red Bull Driver Search finalist.

• Won Jim Russell graduate run-offs.
• Finished second in Jim Russell Championship Series Junior 80 shifter kart division.

• Won Jim Russell Sprint Kart Series championship in TaG 125 class, recording four victories.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2015 Verizon IndyCar Series 2 0 0 0 1 0 2
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 1 0 0 0 1 0 1
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 7 0 0 1 1 4 4
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 15 0 0 2 6 60 12
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 0 0 2 5 12 14
2010 Verizon IndyCar Series 2 0 0 0 0 0 1
Total 44 0 0 5 14 76 34
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2009 Indy Lights 15 4 6 11 12 241 13
2008 Indy Lights 16 1 0 8 12 47 14
2007 Indy Lights 2 0 0 0 0 0 0
Total 33 5 6 19 24 288 27
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
CFH Racing

Led by co-owners Ed Carpenter, Sarah Fisher and Wink Hartman, CFH Racing was formed in August 2014 by the integration of Ed Carpenter Racing and Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.

In 2014, Ed Carpenter Racing won three races (Long Beach and Toronto with Mike Conway driving and Texas with Carpenter at the wheel). Josef Newgarden, the 2011 Indy Lights champion, drove the SFH Racing car to front-row starting positions at Texas, Mid-Ohio, Sonoma and Fontana and placed second in the Iowa event in the No. 67 entry. He also finished second at Baltimore in 2013. Luca Filippi will drive the road and street course races in the No. 20 car for 2015.