Indy Lights - Zack Meyer

Scott Anderson Fan Force United
Alex Baron Belardi Auto Racing
Zack Meyer
Zack Meyer
Driver Info
Zack Meyer
Biography of Zack Meyer

Zack Meyer first made his mark in the Brian Stewart Racing Karting Championship, winning back-to-back F125/ICC Shifter titles in 2009 and 2010. Meyer continued his winning ways south of the border in the USA karting ranks, besting drivers from around the world to win KZ2 crown in both the 2011 and 2012 Florida Winter Tour. Jumping directly up to the Star Mazda Championship, he scored a top-10 in his one-off car racing debut at Mosport International Raceway (now Canadian Tire Motorsport Park), before a solid inaugural full season of car competition, that featured increasing speed and racecraft resulting in three top-10 finishes. Zack completed his 2013 Pro Mazda Series with a 6th Place finish and is now signed with Team Moore Racing for the 2014 Indy Light Series.

Hobbies: Building and working on car/go kart motors and anything to do with cars or racing, drums-guitar (music making), dirt bike/mountain biking, skateboard/snowboard, building and creating anything with my hands

Racing goal: To be the best the world has ever seen at the top of the auto racing ladder

Racing hero: Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, Kimi Raikkonen

My fitness routine includes: Cardio, heavy weight lifting, abs, legs, EVERYTHING. I love working out.

Any pre-race rituals or superstitions: I like to pray to my grandfathers that aren't here anymore and a quick something to everyone close to me.

The one talent I wish I had: To be an amazing singer…. but I’m not!

An interesting note about me: You will have to meet me and find out, but one thing is that I seem to adapt to situations very quickly.

2013: Finished sixth in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires… claimed a best finish of fourth on the streets of Toronto and an additional eight top-seven finishes… earned the year-end Quarter Mazda Hard Charger Award for most positions gained over the course of the season.

2012: Contested first full season of Star Mazda competition finishing 15th in the championship with four top-10 finishes… was the Florida Winter Tour KZ2 Champion.

2011: Won the Florida Winter Tour KZ2 Championship… raced against and ultimately beat Rubens Barrichello in KZ2 Karting.

2010: Claimed the Brian Stewart KZ2 Karting Championship… completed a Skip Barber Advanced Two-Day Racing School.

2009: Won the Brian Stewart KZ2 Karting Championship… completed a Skip Barber Three Day Racing School.

2008: Began Karting at Innisfil Kart Club.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2013 Pro Mazda 16 0 0 2 12 0 9
2012 Pro Mazda 17 0 0 0 4 0 14
Total 33 0 0 2 16 0 23
2014 Indy Lights 12 0 0 1 12 0 12
Total 12 0 0 1 12 0 12
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
Team Moore Racing

Mark Moore and Tom Wood formed Team Moore Racing in February 2007 to compete in  Firestone Indy Lights. The team finished 10th in its inaugural season, recording nine top-10 finishes.  It won its first race in the series with Pablo Donoso at Infineon Raceway in 2008.

Moore has more than 35 years of racing experience in all levels of the sport while Wood is a successful businessman who is the chairman and managing director of Xtreme Coil, an oil drilling corporation that is on the cutting edge of technology, with corporate headquarters in Calgary, Alberta. Wood made 21 starts in Firestone Indy Lights as a driver from 2002-07, recording seven top-five finishes.

Moore and Wood competed together with Kenn Hardley Racing in 2005 and 2006.  In that time, Moore performed double-duty as the team manager and race engineer, helping KHR become one of the premier teams in the series, finishing 2nd and 3rd in the championship during that period with multiple wins.

Over the years, TMR has competed with this impressive stable of drivers including Jonathan Klein, Dillon Battistini, Jeff Simmons, Pablo Donoso, Andrew Prendeville, Adrian Campos, Jr., James Hinchcliffe, Victor Garcia, David Ostella and Gustavo Yacaman, Jr.  Most notably James Hinchcliffe finished 2nd in the 2010 Championship and the following year went on to be Indy Car’s Rookie Driver of the Year.  James then secured a full time ride with Andretti Autosport in the car.

Mark Moore has carefully pulled together the most experienced mechanics, crew chiefs, and engineers to staff TMR.  In the past 3 seasons Team Moore Racing has won multiple races on all the varied circuits that comprise the Firestone Indy Lights Series, short oval, speedway, and street courses.  It is a challenge for our race engineers as well as to our drivers.

The team now enthusiastically looks forward to the 2013 season and its renewed quest for the championship.