Scott Anderson
Scott  Anderson
SPM with Curb-Agajanian
Scott Anderson
Career stats
Verizon IndyCar Series
Total Poles
Race Wins
Feb 18, 1989
77 USA
Fort Collins, Colo
Fort Collins, Colo

Fort Collins, Colorado native, Scott Anderson, started go-karting at a young age. Over the years he worked his way up to compete in the Skip Barber Racing School Western series until 2011, and in 2012 he was signed to the Belardi Auto Racing for the USF200 National Championship presented by Cooper Tires.

Hobbies: Skiing, mountain biking, wakeboarding, hiking/climbing, swimming

Snapshot: I like to spend my spare time outdoors. Other than racing, skiing and mountain biking are my biggest passions, and I think it’s the best way for me to train for racing. My favorite music changes all the time. I go through a different phase probably every month.

Racing goal:  To be the IndyCar Series champion and Indy 500 winner

Racing hero:  Mika Hakkinen, Sebastien Loeb

My fitness routine includes:  Mountain biking/cycling, swimming, climbing, gym, etc. I try to do a little of everything.

Any pre-race rituals or superstitions:  None

The one talent I wish I had:  To be able to backflip on flat ground

2015 Indy Lights 16 0 0 3 14 0 14
2014 Indy Lights 14 0 0 2 12 0 12
2013 Pro Mazda 16 0 0 7 15 0 8
2012 Cooper Tires USF2000 14 2 2 9 12 22 13
2012 Pro Mazda 1 0 0 0 0 0 1

* Under INDYCAR sanction

** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points

RAF = Running at Finish

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Logo

Sam Schmidt Motorsports, which was formed by Sam Schmidt in 2001, is the winningest team in Firestone Indy Lights  history, recording 26 race victories and three driver championships.

The team earned its first Firestone Indy Lights championship in 2004. In a 12-race season, the team won six races with Thiago Medeiros and captured nine pole positions, eight by Medeiros and one by Travis Gregg.

Jay Howard captured the driver's championship in 2006 on the strength of two race victories and two pole positions, while the team finished second in the entrant championship.

In 2007, Alex Lloyd won the championship with eight victories in 16 races, including a record five consecutive victories to start the season.

Team owner Sam Schmidt made 27 career starts in the IndyCar Series as a driver, earning one victory and pole position, both achievements in his hometown of Las Vegas in September 1999 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway while driving for Treadway Racing. In January 2000, Schmidt became a quadriplegic due to injuries suffered in a testing crash at Orlando, Fla.

Schmidt, who endures more than 35 hours of physical therapy per week, puts his master's degree in international finance from Pepperdine University to work managing the marketing efforts for his team and the strategic direction of the Sam Schmidt Paralysis Foundation.

The foundation's mission is to help individuals overcome spinal-cord injuries and other related debilitating illnesses by facilitating scientific research, medical treatment, rehabilitation and technological advances. The foundation raises funds through the power of motorsports to improve quality of life and assure the best possible outcomes by touching individual lives. Every dollar raised in the foundation name goes to support the foundation and its missions.

Schmidt resides in Henderson, Nev., with his wife, Sheila, and their children, Savannah and Spencer.

In late-2012, Sam Schmidt and Ric Peterson, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Oculus Transport Ltd., announced the formation of a new partnership between the two as owners of SSM’s Firestone Indy Lights and IZOD IndyCar Series race teams.


Scott's Road To Indy

  • 2014
    • Earned eighth-place position in the final Indy Lights standings, with two top five finishes.
  • 2013
    • Finished fifth in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires.
    • Recorded a best finish of second and claimed six additional top-five results.
    • Earned a pair of Quarter Master Hard Charger Awards.
  • 2012
    • Finished third in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda.
    • Won two races and added three more podium finishes in his rookie season.
  • 2011
    • Won the BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda Championship.
    • Scored six race wins, 12 podium finishes and four pole positions from the 16-race season.
    • Won MAZDASPEED Driver Development scholarship to graduate to USF2000 in 2012.
  • 2010-2011
    • Won the Skip Barber Western Race Series Championship with four wins.
    • Finished second in the Skip Barber Racing Southern Series with five race wins.
    • Won the Skip Barber MAZDASPEED Challenge Winter Tour (Mazda MX-5) Championship, also with four wins.
    • Claimed a total of 19 wins, 39 podium finishes and 15 poles from a total of 56 races between all three series.
    • Finished seventh in the BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda.
  • 2009
    • Finished third in the Skip Barber Western Series with four race wins.