Matthew Brabham
Matthew  Brabham
Andretti Autosport
Matthew Brabham
Career stats
Verizon IndyCar Series
Total Poles
Race Wins
Feb 25, 1994
83 USA
Boca Raton, Fla.
Indianapolis, IN

Matthew Brabham comes from a rich racing pedigree.  His father Geoff starred on both the IMSA and INDYCAR circuits.   His grandfather is legendary three-time Formula 1 World Champion Sir Jack Brabham.

Brabham showed signs of promise early on, winning kart races in Australia at just seven years old.  2009 saw Brabham finish his successful tenure on the kart circuit as he moved on to the Australian Formula Ford circuit.  He raced the 2010 season on the circuit with the CAMS Rising Star team.  By 2012, Brabham was stateside and racing in the USF2000 series.  His USF2000 campaign proved to be wildly successful, with Brabham winning double honors as both series champion and Rookie of the Year.  In 2013, Brabham signed on with Andretti Autosport to race in the Pro Mazda Championship series.

Off the track, Matthew enjoys skiing and wake boarding.  He counts Italian motorcycle legend Valentino Rossi as his racing hero and his ultimate racing goals are to win the Indianapolis 500 and, following in his grandfather’s footsteps, the F1 championship.

Hobbies: Body boarding – I love the beach and catching big waves body boarding or surfing; fitness – training and keeping fit for racing; iRacing – driving simulators racing against people online; snow skiing – going skiing with my friends; jet skiing

Racing goal: Become F1 World Champion and win the Indy 500

Racing hero: Valentino Rossi – refuses to lose

My fitness routine includes: Running, reaction training, weights

Any pre-race rituals or superstitions: No

The one talent I wish I had: Musical ability

An interesting note about me: I grew up in Australia.

2015 Indy Lights 3 0 0 0 1 0 2
2014 Indy Lights 14 1 1 10 12 111 12
2013 Pro Mazda 16 13 10 15 16 313 8
2012 Cooper Tires USF2000 14 4 5 12 13 71 13

* Under INDYCAR sanction

** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points

RAF = Running at Finish

Andretti Autosport

Based in Indianapolis and led by racing legend Michael Andretti, Andretti Autosport fields multiple entries in the Verizon IndyCar Series. Andretti Autosport also campaigns multiple cars in Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires and the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires.

The company boasts four Verizon IndyCar Series championships (2004, 2005, 2007 and 2012), two Indy Lights titles (2008 and 2009), one USF2000 championship (2010) and has won the Indianapolis 500 in 2005, 2007 and 2014.

Andretti competed for 19 years in CART before moving to the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2003. He retired from full-time driving following the 2003 Indianapolis 500 to concentrate on team ownership and drove for the final time in the 2006 Indianapolis 500.

Matthew's Road To Indy

  • 2013
    • Finished on podium 15 times in 16 total starts.
    • Won the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and BBS Rookie of the Year honors driving for Andretti Autosport in a record-shattering season that included new series milestones for most wins (13), most consecutive wins (7), most podiums (15) and most fastest race laps (13).
    • Claimed 10 pole positions.
    • Became first driver to advance in succession from USF2000 to Pro Mazda and now Indy Lights via the Mazda Road to Indy scholarship program.
  • 2012
    • Won the 2012 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship with four wins, eight fastest laps, three track records and six pole positions, driving for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing.
    • Finished third in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Winterfest, winning once and earning four podium finishes.
    • Won Team USA Scholarship and contested the Formula Renault Winter Series in the UK.
    • Named the 2012 VP Rookie of the Year.
    • Finished finished a close second in the final race at Rockingham, setting fastest race lap.
  • 2011
    • Joined Australia's premier Formula Ford team, Sonic Motor Racing Services, and won first Australian National FF Championship race at Winton Raceway.
    • Won eight of 12 State races, including seven in a row.
  • 2010
    • Won first Formula Ford race at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit.
  • 2009
    • Joined CAMS (Confederation of Australian Motor Sport) Rising Star Formula Ford program.
  • 2008
    • Won NSW and Queensland State Karting Championship.
  • 2007
    • Was Queensland State Karting Champion.