Watkins Glen International
INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen
Watkins Glen International - Watkins Glen, NY
Watkins Glen International
INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen
1:00PM ET
NBCSNRogers Sportsnet 360
Watkins Glen International
About the track

When Formula One visited Watkins Glen in 1961 for the first Watkins Glen U.S. Grand Prix, it was the beginning of what would become a tradition at the circuit through 1980. Innes Ireland won the inaugural running, with drivers such as Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Jackie Stewart, Niki Lauda, Emerson Fittipaldi and James Hunt among the winners of the grand prix. In 2004, the Verizon IndyCar Series announced that it would compete on the historic 3.4-mile, 11-turn long course at Watkins Glen International on Sept. 25, 2005. The circuit included "the boot," which is part of the traditional grand prix circuit. Scott Dixon won the first Verizon IndyCar Series event at the track – the first of three straight wins at the track for the Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver – and donated his laurel wreath from Victory Lane to nearby Seneca Lodge to hang among the wreaths of the previous race winners at Watkins Glen, a tradition that dates to the United States Grand Prix Formula One event. Justin Wilson claimed the first-ever win for Dale Coyne Racing at the track, when he won the race in 2009.

On-Track Schedule Download Schedule
TV Broadcast Schedule
1:00 - 4:00 PM
Past track winners
Scott Dixon / 2016
Will Power / 2010
Justin Wilson / 2009
Ryan Hunter-Reay / 2008
Scott Dixon / 2007
Scott Dixon / 2006
Scott Dixon / 2005
Rick Mears / 1981
Bobby Unser / 1980
Bobby Unser / 1979