St Petersburg 2013 Logo
Firestone Grand Prix Of St. Petersburg
Streets of St. Petersburg - St. Petersburg, FL
Streets of St. Petersburg
Firestone Grand Prix Of St. Petersburg
Race Complete
ABCRogers Sportsnet 360
Streets of St. Petersburg
About the track

The 1.8-mile, 14-turn circuit incorporates streets of downtown St. Petersburg and a section of runway of Albert Whitted Airport. After the long frontstrecth, there's a tight right-hander into Turn 1 and then a quick left-hand turn. Plenty of drivers have gotten into trouble in these two turns over the years. There are two other long straights with heavy braking zones that afford opportunities to overtake.

Race Review

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – The 50th anniversary celebration season for Team Penske is off to a rousing start.

Penske driver Juan Pablo Montoya controlled the closing laps of the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg to win the Verizon IndyCar Series season opener for the second straight year. Driving the No. 2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, Montoya led teammate Simon Pagenaud across the finish line by 2.3306 seconds, with Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay placing third and Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves fourth on the 1.8-mile temporary street course.

Montoya’s 15th career Indy car win, by a margin of 2.3306 seconds, ties him with Alex Zanardi for 31st on the career chart. It is also the 179th victory for Team Penske in Indy car racing, the most of any team in history, and eighth for Roger Penske’s outfit in the 13-race St. Petersburg history.

“It was good, said Montoya, who lost the 2015 series championship on a race wins tiebreaker to Scott Dixon. “The Chevy was good all day. It was exciting to have a new paint scheme and come out and win with it. It’s just awesome. We started the year last year like this. I felt this morning we had a really good car and it paid off.

The only thing missing from the Team Penske domination was Will Power, who took ill after claiming the Verizon P1 Award for winning the pole position March 12. Upon re-examination by the INDYCAR medical team, Power was diagnosed with a mild concussion. INDYCAR released the following statement:

“Following his on-track incident on Friday, Will Power displayed no signs of injury and was evaluated and cleared by the INDYCAR medical team. Per INDYCAR protocol, we also evaluated the data collected from his ear accelerometers, which provides data specific to the impact on a driver’s head, and nothing gathered from that data indicated further evaluation was required.

“After learning of Will’s symptoms following qualifications Saturday, he was required to submit to another evaluation by INDYCAR Medical Director Dr. Geoffrey Billows, at which point he was diagnosed with a mild concussion. Power has been entered into INDYCAR’s concussion protocol and will need to be re-evaluated prior to being cleared to drive.”

Power was replaced in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet by Oriol Servia, who started last in the 22-car field by rule, was involved in a mid-race multi-car pileup and finished 17th.

Pagenaud, in the No. 22 Hewlett Packard Enterprise Chevrolet, assumed the first starting position with Power’s withdrawal and led the first 48 laps of the 110-lap race. The second-place finish was his best in four St. Pete races.

Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Conor Daly led a career-best 15 laps midway through the event while on a different pit strategy. Driving the No. 18 Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality Honda for Dale Coyne Racing, Daly finished 13th.

The race saw just two full-course yellow conditions, tying a St. Pete record for fewest in a race. One yellow was due to a multi-car logjam triggered when the No. 26 Andretti Autosport Honda of Carlos Munoz ran into the rear of the No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Stek 'n Shake Honda of Graham Rahal on Lap 57.

Top Three Positions
Juan Pablo Montoya
Team Penske
Simon Pagenaud
Team Penske
Ryan Hunter-Reay
Andretti Autosport
Past track winners
Sebastien Bourdais / 2017
Juan Pablo Montoya / 2016
Juan Pablo Montoya / 2015
Will Power / 2014
James Hinchcliffe / 2013
Helio Castroneves / 2012
Dario Franchitti / 2011
Will Power / 2010
Ryan Briscoe / 2009
Graham Rahal / 2008
Helio Castroneves / 2007
Helio Castroneves / 2006
Dan Wheldon / 2005
Paul Tracy / 2003