Pro Mazda - 2014 Schedule

Previous Race Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix Race 1
Next Race Allied Building Products Pro Mazda Oval Challenge at Milwaukee IndyFest

Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix Race 2

Lexington, OH
03 Aug Race Complete
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Track
Race Review

Lexington, Ohio - Garett Grist lined up third on the grid for this morning's Cooper Tires Pro Mazda Grand Prix at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Round 11 of the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, but he didn't stay there for long. The 19-year-old from Grimsby, Ont., Canada pounced at the rolling start, moving alongside front row starters Nicolas Costa and Kyle Kaiser on the drag race toward Turn Four before taking the lead with a bold maneuver to secure the inside line - and the lead - into Turn Six.

Grist remained under pressure for the entire 20-lap race from Costa, who ensured a fine weekend for Team Pelfrey after winning yesterday's race and claiming the additional bonus point this morning for setting fastest race lap by a scant 0.0010 seconds over Grist. The Canadian's second victory of the season with Andretti Autosport's #27 DaVinci Foods/Lander Property Management entry moved him up one place in the season standings to fifth, just two points behind teammate Shelby Blackstock who was unfortunately involved in an incident even before the green flag had been waved.

Kaiser (Juncos Racing) held third in the early stages but soon began to struggle with a lack of rear-end adhesion and slid back toward the main pack. Scott Hargrove, meanwhile, was moving in the opposite direction for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing. After starting a lowly eighth, last year's winner of the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda made up three places on the opening lap, then scrabbled past series points leader Spencer Pigot (Juncos Racing) on Lap 5. 

Hargrove also overtook Kaiser on Lap 10, then set off in pursuit of the two leaders who already held an advantage of over three seconds. He reduced the deficit but was never quite able to get on terms with either Costa or Grist, and had to settle for third.

Mexican teenager Gutierrez finished a strong fourth after a race-long battle with Neil Alberico (Cape Motorsports) and Pigot, who had lost two additional places when Hargrove made his move. Gutierrez earned the RePlay XD Move of the Race for his pass on Kaiser for fourth in the Esses on Lap 11. Kaiser couldn't match their pace and ultimately finished seventh, just ahead of Dalton Kellett (Team Pelfrey) and Kyle Connery (JDC MotorSports), who drove another strong race in working his way from 15th on the grid.

Bobby Eberle (World Speed Motorsports) scored another clear victory in the Expert division, for drivers over age 30, cementing his points lead over second-place finisher Jay Horak (M1 Racing).

Alberico claimed the Quarter Master Hard Charger Award after making up six positions in the race to finish fifth. Additional contingency awards included the PFC Award and customized Race Energy charger - the official battery of the ladder series - to the winning team, Andretti Autosport; and the Staubli Award to Connery.

Pigot now holds a 14-point advantage over Hargrove as the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires heads next to the famed Milwaukee Mile oval in Wisconsin, once again in support of the Verizon IndyCar Series, on August 16.
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
About the Track
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Track

Track Info

The 2.258-mile, 13-turn natural-terrain road course offers a little of everything -- elevation changes, speed corners, flowing corners, tight corners, a narrow (40 feet) racing ribbon and a challenging entry to pit lane.

Past Track Winners

2014 Garett Grist (R2)
2014 Nicolas Costa (R1)
2013 Matthew Brabham (R2)
2013 Matthew Brabham (R1)
2006 Ryan Justice
2005 Raphael Matos
2002 Guy Cosmo

NBC Sports Channel Finder

◄ Newer
Older ►