Verizon IndyCar Series - 2014 Schedule

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Previous Race Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio
Next Race GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma

ABC Supply Wisconsin 250

West Allis, WI
Race Review

WEST ALLIS, Wis. -- After earning the Verizon P1 Award for the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 at Milwaukee IndyFest, Will Power said he left some speed on the historic Milwaukee Mile. He used all the horsepower the Chevrolet engine could muster Aug. 17 to dominate the 250-lap race and take command of the Verizon IndyCar Series championship.

Power, driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske, turned away challenges by Tony Kanaan and teammate Juan Pablo Montoya to win by 2.7949 seconds over Montoya. Kanaan finished third for his fourth podium in the past five races and Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon placed fourth. Josef Newgarden, who was running third when he had to pit for fuel on Lap 237, rebounded for his second consecutive top-five finish on an oval.

It was the first victory at Milwaukee, the first on a short oval and the first on an oval since Auto Club Speedway last October for Power, whose 24th career win matched Bobby Rahal and Ralph DePalma for 16th on the all-time list.

"Oh, man, I love winning on ovals," Power said as he crossed the finish line. “The handling was awesome; we hardly made any adjustments over the whole race. Full credit to the team for giving me such a great car. These are my favorite tracks these days. I really enjoy the ovals – it’s great fun. I hope we put a good show on for the fans."

Power swept the bonus points for winning the pole and leading the most laps. He also earned a point for leading a lap. Power came into the 16th of 18 races with a four-point lead over Helio Castroneves and heads to the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma on Aug. 24 with a 39-point advantage (602-563) over his teammate, who finished 11th in the demanding race.

There are six contenders for the title, which will be decided for the ninth consecutive year in the MAVTV 500 finale Aug. 30 at Auto Club Speedway. 

"It was very difficult to get close to someone; we did struggle with handling," Castroneves, who started eighth in the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske car. "It was just one of those days.  Good job to the Verizon car -- Will ended up winning the race and Juan Pablo second, so Team Penske was strong with that. Hey, there are still more races to go. and I will be there, ready to go. We are not giving up at all. There are two races to go with the big one at Fontana paying double points. Still a lot of racing left."

Simon Pagenaud (510 points) finished seventh to move to third in the standings ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay (494), whose No. 28 DHL Andretti Autosport car developed a mechanical issue on Lap 167 and finished 21st. Montoya (488) and Dixon (472) also remain in the hunt.

"It's a perfect way to start this three-race chase," added Power, who took over the lead for good on Lap 193 following the final round of pit stops and led 229 laps total. "If we have a couple more days like this of course it’s going to be a great finish. We’re going to keep our head down, don’t think of points, and execute."

Milwaukee IndyFest
About the Track
Milwaukee IndyFest Track

Track Info

The one-mile oval drives more like a road course because of the 9-degree banking in the turns, which produces exciting racing. Drivers can't go flat out on the course, which creates overtaking opportunities in the turns as well as the straights. The Mile opened in 1903 and little has changed to the configuration.

Past Track Winners

2014 Will Power
2013 Ryan Hunter-Reay
2012 Ryan Hunter-Reay
2011 Dario Franchitti
2009 Scott Dixon
2008 Ryan Briscoe
2007 Tony Kanaan
2006 Tony Kanaan
2006 Sebastien Bourdais
2005 Sam Hornish, Jr.
2005 Paul Tracy
2004 Dario Franchitti
2004 Ryan Hunter Reay
2003 Michel Jourdain, Jr.
2002 Paul Tracy
2001 Kenny Brack
2000 Juan Pablo Montoya
1999 Paul Tracy
1998 Jimmy Vasser
1997 Greg Moore
1996 Michael Andretti
1995 Paul Tracy
1994 Al Unser, Jr.
1993 Nigel Mansell
1992 Michael Andretti
1991 Michael Andretti
1990 Al Unser, Jr.
1989 Rick Mears
1988 Rick Mears
1987 Michael Andretti
1986 Michael Andretti
1985 Mario Andretti
1984 Tom Sneva
1983 Tom Sneva
1982 Tom Sneva
1982 Gordon Johncock
1981 Tom Sneva
1981 Mike Mosley
1980 Johnny Rutherford
1980 Bobby Unser
1979 Roger McCluskey
1979 A.J. Foyt
1978 Danny Ongais
1978 Rick Mears
1977 Johnny Rutherford
1977 Johnny Rutherford
1976 Al Unser
1976 Mike Mosley
1975 Mike Mosley
1975 A.J. Foyt
1974 Gordon Johncock
1974 Johnny Rutherford
1973 Wally Dallenbach
1973 Bobby Unser
1972 Joe Leonard
1972 Bobby Unser
1971 Bobby Unser
1971 Al Unser
1970 Al Unser
1970 Joe Leonard
1969 Al Unser
1969 Gred Weld & Art Pollard
1968 Lloyd Ruby
1968 Lloyd Ruby
1967 Mario Andretti
1967 Gordon Johncock
1966 Mario Andretti
1966 Mario Andretti
1965 Gordon Johncock
1965 Joe Leonard
1965 Parnelli Jones
1964 Parnelli Jones
1964 A.J. Foyt
1963 Jim Clark
1963 Rodger Ward
1962 Rodger Ward
1962 A.J. Foyt
1961 Lloyd Ruby
1961 Rodger Ward
1960 Len Sutton
1960 Rodger Ward
1959 Rodger Ward
1959 Johnny Thomson
1958 Rodger Ward
1958 Art Bisch
1957 Jim Rathmann
1957 Rodger Ward
1956 Jimmy Bryan
1956 Pat Flaherty
1955 Pat Flaherty
1955 Johnny Thomson
1954 Manny Ayulo
1954 Chuck Stevenson
1953 Chuck Stevenson
1953 Jack McGrath
1952 Chuck Stevenson
1952 Mike Nazaruk
1951 Walt Faulkner
1951 Tony Bettenhausen
1950 Walt Faulkner
1950 Tony Bettenhausen
1949 Johnnie Parsons
1949 Myron Fohr
1948 Myron Fohr & Tony Bettenhausen
1948 Johnny Mantz
1948 Emil Andres
1947 Ted Horn
1947 Charles Van Acker
1947 Bill Holland
1946 Rex Mays
1941 Rex Mays
1939 Babe Stapp
1938 Chet Gardner
1937 Rex Mays

NBC Sports Channel Finder

◄ Newer
Older ►