Verizon IndyCar Series - 2013 Schedule

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Previous Race Honda Indy Toronto Race 2
Next Race GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma

Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio

Lexington, OH
04 Aug Race Complete
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Track
Race Review

LEXINGTON, Ohio -- Charlie Kimball sized up Simon Pagenaud's No. 77 Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports car on the backstretch, darted to the inside entering the Esses and easily completed the pass on Lap 73.

It proved to be the decisive move of the 90-lap Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio and of the Camarillo, Calif., native's IZOD IndyCar Series career.

Kimball, driving the Honda-powered No. 83 NovoLog FlexPen Chip Ganassi Racing car, earned his first victory in the series and gave Chip Ganassi Racing its fifth consecutive win at the 2.258-mile, 13-turn road course.

Kimball is the ninth different winner in 14 races this season and the fourth first-time winner. Four different teams were represented in the top five.

“It’s nice when the team gives you such a great car," said Kimball, who started fifth. "All I needed to do was to hit the lap times they needed me to. For a while they were saying 67.5s (seconds per lap) and I threw down a couple 67.1s. They said, 'OK, see if you can do a 66.' We just kept pushing the limit."

Kimball led a field-high 46 laps in the caution-free race (the first since Mid-Ohio last year). Through his previous 44 starts, he lead a total of 15 laps (12 this season).

"Simon was on a similar strategy," Kimball added. "I caught traffic at just some of the wrong times, so that meant that he came out of pit lane ahead of us. But we had the momentum to take the lead and make the pass for what turned out to be the win.”

Pagenaud was 5.533 seconds behind Kimball to record his first podium finish since winning Race 2 of the Detroit doubleheader weekend in early June.

"I gave it my all. Just him and Ganassi were stronger," Pagenaud said. "Charlie was bold enough to stick it on the inside and I didn’t think he would make it but he did so congrats to him."

Dario Franchitti finished third in the No. 10 GE car for Target Chip Ganassi Racing to provide Honda power a podium sweep. Will Power finished fourth and pole sitter Ryan Hunter-Reay was fifth.

Helio Castroneves finished sixth -- one position ahead of Scott Dixon -- to expand his championship points lead over the two-time series champion to 31. Hunter-Reay is third (65 points back) heading to the Aug. 25 GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

Race Highlight Articles
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
About the Track
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Track

Track Info

The 2.258-mile, 13-turn natural-terrain road course offers a little of everything -- elevation changes, speed corners, flowing corners, tight corners, a narrow (40 feet) racing ribbon and a challenging entry to pit lane.

Past Track Winners

2013 Charlie Kimball
2012 Scott Dixon
2011 Scott Dixon
2010 Dario Franchitti
2009 Scott Dixon
2008 Ryan Briscoe
2007 Scott Dixon
2003 Paul Tracy
2002 Patrick Carpentier
2001 Helio Castroneves
2000 Helio Castroneves
1999 Juan Montoya
1998 Adrián Fernández
1997 Alex Zanardi
1996 Alex Zanardi
1995 Al Unser, Jr.
1994 Al Unser, Jr.
1993 Emerson Fittipaldi
1992 Emerson Fittipaldi
1991 Michael Andretti
1990 Michael Andretti
1989 Teo Fabi
1988 Emerson Fittipaldi
1987 Roberto Guerrero
1986 Bobby Rahal
1985 Bobby Rahal
1984 Mario Andretti
1983 Teo Fabi
1980 Johnny Rutherford
track videos
  • 90 laps of twists, turns: The course and strategy
  • Top 3 finishers talk about demanding Mid-Ohio race
  • Firestone Fast Six: Mid-Ohio qualifying highlights
  • Practice 2 highlights from Mid-Ohio circuit
Track Photos

NBC Sports Channel Finder

◄ Newer
Older ►