Verizon IndyCar Series - 2012 Schedule

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Previous Race Milwaukee IndyFest
Next Race Honda Indy Toronto

Iowa Corn Indy 250

Newton, IA
23 Jun Race Complete
Iowa Corn Indy 250
Iowa Corn Indy 250 Track
Race Review

Ryan Hunter-Reay, driving the No. 28 Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda car, led Andretti Autosport teammate Marco Andretti by 1.2223 seconds on Lap 247 of 250 when the yellow flag flew the next lap for the No. 6 car driven by Katherine Legge making contact with the SAFER Barrier exiting Turn 2.

"That was very challenging," said Hunter-Reay, who started seventh. "We were sliding around a little bit more today. I have to thank Marco. They came here and tested. Marco put the setup on the car. When we came here, we tweaked it just a little. From there, we basically raced with what he tested.

"Marco and I raced really hard out there, really clean. It’s great to have a teammate like that and we’re just so happy to be in Victory Lane twice in a row."

Andretti, the 2011 race winner, earned his first podium finish of the season. Tony Kanaan followed his runner-up finish to Hunter-Reay at Milwaukee with a third place and Scott Dixon was fourth. Simon Pagenaud, who started last in the 25-car field, climbed to fifth in his fourth oval race.

"The car came alive in the second stint," said Andretti, driver of the No. 26 Team RC Cola car. "I think we, in hindsight, could have taken another turn of the front wing and been really hard to beat at the end, but we kept the car how it is and I kind of ran out of tools at the end and had a lot of understeer. Great team effort, definitely a statement from Andretti Autosport and congrats to Ryan."

Andretti Autosport drivers have won the past four short track oval races (Hunter-Reay three of them).

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the Iowa Corn Indy 250

Iowa Corn Indy 250
About the Track
Iowa Corn Indy 250 Track

Track Info

Iowa Speedway is a .875-mile tri-oval with variable banking that drives like a superspeedway. With laps under 18 seconds, it's exceptionally demanding physically and mentally on drivers. It was designed with the second generation of SAFER Barrier around the entire perimeter of the racetrack.

Past Track Winners

2012 Ryan Hunter-Reay
2011 Marco Andretti
2010 Tony Kanaan
2009 Dario Franchitti
2008 Dan Wheldon
2007 Dario Franchitti

NBC Sports Channel Finder

◄ Newer
Older ►