Verizon IndyCar Series - 2012 Schedule

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Previous Race Edmonton Indy
Next Race GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma

Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio

Lexington, OH
Race Review

Scott Dixon saved fuel when he needed, kept the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car out of harm's way throughout 85-lap race and took advantage of every opportunity. Oh, and his pit crew performed admirably, too. All told, it led to Dixon winning the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio for the fourth time in the past six years. His 29th victory tied Rick Mears for 10th all time.

Dixon, starting fourth, beat race leader and pole sitter Will Power off pit lane on Lap 57 (their second and final service stop) and went on to lead the driver of the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car across the start-finish line by 3.4619 seconds.

Power, who picked up three bonus points for winning the pole and leading the most laps, regained the points lead heading into the GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma on Aug. 26 as front-runner Ryan Hunter-Reay was running sixth but started to fall through the field midway through the quick race with an engine issue and finished 24th.

"It’s a very good points day," said Power, who has 379 points. "We’re happy to get the Verizon car on the podium. We’ll keep chasing after it. We’ll get a win here soon and keep going after that championship."

Dixon, who incurred a grid penalty two weeks earlier at Edmonton and rallied to gain seven positions to 10th, remained fourth in the standings but closed from 35 to two points of third place and is 28 points out of the lead.

"We gained 30-odd points just on first place today," said Dixon, a two-time series champion. "For us, that's big momentum. Big momentum. We are going into three tracks that we can for sure do well at. And I think that we will do well at. We definitely have the crew to do it. Fingers crossed that we can be in the hunt and stay in the hunt until the last race."

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast of the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
About the Track
Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Track

Track Info

The 2.258-mile, 13-turn natural-terrain road course offers a little of everything -- elevation changes, speed corners, flowing corners, tight corners, a narrow (40 feet) racing ribbon and a challenging entry to pit lane.

Past Track Winners

2012 Scott Dixon
2011 Scott Dixon
2010 Dario Franchitti
2009 Scott Dixon
2008 Ryan Briscoe
2007 Scott Dixon
2003 Paul Tracy
2002 Patrick Carpentier
2001 Helio Castroneves
2000 Helio Castroneves
1999 Juan Montoya
1998 Adrián Fernández
1997 Alex Zanardi
1996 Alex Zanardi
1995 Al Unser, Jr.
1994 Al Unser, Jr.
1993 Emerson Fittipaldi
1992 Emerson Fittipaldi
1991 Michael Andretti
1990 Michael Andretti
1989 Teo Fabi
1988 Emerson Fittipaldi
1987 Roberto Guerrero
1986 Bobby Rahal
1985 Bobby Rahal
1984 Mario Andretti
1983 Teo Fabi
1980 Johnny Rutherford
◄ Newer
Older ►