Verizon IndyCar Series - 2012 Schedule

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Previous Race Indianapolis 500
Next Race Firestone 550

Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix

Detroit, MI
03 Jun Race Complete
Belle Isle Detroit - 2013 Redesign
Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix Track
Race Review

Race winner Scott Dixon, who held on to finish 1.9628 seconds ahead of Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Dario Franchitti, also was joined on the stage by Simon Pagenaud as Honda swept the top three in Chevy's home race.

A week earlier, it was Franchitti leading Dixon across the start-finish line at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway to win his third Indianapolis 500.

Dixon, the pole sitter, led all 60 laps in the race shortened from 90 laps because of a two-hour red flag for crews to repair three sections of patched asphalt on the 14-turn course. Dixon earned his 28th Indy car victory, passing Johnny Rutherford for 11th on the all-time list. Rick Mears (29) is next up.

"I am super happy for the team – a 1-2 finish for the Target boys for the second week in a row," Dixon said. "Hats off to the fans who stuck around through something that was totally unexpected. If I could have gotten my gloves off I’d have chewed my nails for sure on those final laps. 

"I’d like to give a lot of credit to everyone at INDYCAR and the Detroit staff for getting the track back in shape so we could race. The final 15-lap shootout was exciting for me, so I sure hope the fans liked it. It is great to be back in Detroit and I hope we are here for many years to come – great fans, volunteers and staff. In the end, it was a good week for everyone."

Listen to the INDYCAR Radio Broadcast

Belle Isle Detroit - 2013 Redesign
About the Track
Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix Track

Track Info

The 2.34-mile, 13-turn street circuit on Belle Isle in Detroit presents numerous challenges to drivers -- from hard braking zones to speedy straights. The same areas are ripe for overtaking.

Past Track Winners

2008 Justin Wilson
2007 Tony Kanaan
2001 Helio Castroneves
2000 Helio Castroneves
1999 Dario Franchitti
1998 Alex Zanardi
1997 Greg Moore
1996 Michael Andretti
1995 Robby Gordon
1994 Paul Tracy
1993 Danny Sullivan
1992 Bobby Rahal
◄ Newer
Older ►