Karting has long been the foundation of motorsports.  Nearly all of today’s IZOD IndyCar Series stars began their careers in some form of karting.

Karting features four regionally based organizations in which each host national events throughout the season.

How do you get started? Check out the links below to one of the major karting organizations in your area:

World Karting Association International Karting Federation
SuperKarts! USA Rotax

The All-American Soap Box Derby has a deep history and has run nationally since 1934. Over 5,000 participants compete in the All-American Soap Box Derby regional events each year.

Drivers get their start by joining the organization assigned to their geographic region.  Three distinct classes make up the series divisions and the top regional competitors from the Stock, Super Stock and Masters divisions come together for a national competition each year.

Racers compete for scholarship awards and prizes at the All-American Soap Box Derby Nationals each July in Akron, Ohio.

To find out how you can get started in the AASBD, please visit AASBD.org for more information, or click on the logo:

All-American Soap Box Derby


The Mazda Road to Indy was created to establish a clear, defined path for career-minded drivers to the IZOD IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500.

It is the only driver development program in the world that features champion's scholarships at each level of the program (totalling over $2 million).

The Mazda Road To Indy features a racing school (Skip Barber Racing School) and three racing series (USF2000 Championship presented by Mazda, Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires and Firestone Indy Lights) for drivers to develop before advancing to the IZOD IndyCar Series.

It is designed to advance not only driversm, but also engineers, mechanics and more to the IZOD IndyCar Series.

Mazda Road to Indy Scholarship Pyramid

2012 Firestone Indy Lights Champion:
Tristan Vautier

2012 Pro Mazda Championship Champion:
Jack Hawksworth

2012 USF2000 Championship Champion:
Matthew Brabham

2012 Skip Barber Champion Shootout Scholarship Winner:
Peter Portante

INDYCAR.com Mazda Road To Indy Firestone Indy Lights Pro Mazda Championship Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Skip Barber Racing School